Journal pt.2

Understanding Comics by Scott McCloud (notes):

In the book Understanding Comics by Scott McCloud, I learned various terms that are used by people who create comics. For example, Sequential Art is when multiple images are used to create a story. Also, Icon is any image that is used to represent a person, place, thing or idea, and that a symbol is one category of an Icon. As an artist myself, it is important that I learned these words because it is essential that I expand my art terminology.

After reading this book, I realized that we tend to extend ourselves within inanimate objects and even identify with cartoon characters. One example of this is when we are playing our favorite video games. When the character dies in the game, we tend to yell “He/she killed me”or “I died”, as if we are the actual character within the game. This connection is what makes comics and animation so appealing and fascinating, because we become the characters.

I also learned the basic difference between comics and animation. The importance in animation is the timing and the importance in comics is the spacing between each picture. Regular pictures taken on a camera can also be used to create a comic. Even though comics and animation have that clear difference, they also have a strong similarity. The most important similarity is that they amplify things in reality through simplification. They show the audience the important parts, so that they understand what certain things are,but everything else is thrown away. This is also what makes both comics and animation so interesting and entertaining.

Wire Frame:

Wireframe

7 Practice Caricatures:

Caricature4

Caricature3

Final Caricature:

Caricature (1)

 

About nadiaparfait1

I am currently attending Alfred State college. My major is Digital Media and Animation. I create art that expresses my emotions and experiences, incorporated with the knowledge that I obtain from school.
This entry was posted in Non-Time Based and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

