Mask

Mask copy.jpg

I created this mask to fit my face. After putting light on the mask, several photos were taken. I put one image into photoshop and and duplicated it twice. I used line, contrast, value and texture to sketch my mask. Hard lines were used to show the structure of the mask. Also, Using value helped to show the texture within the mask. I also used contrast to convey a message and to grab the interest of the audience.

The first face represents the personality that individuals choose to show others. The middle face shows the hidden dark desires of others. Lastly, the face at the top right represents the unconscious, the part that tends to surprise us by making us do and say things at random with out fully understanding why. I colored one side of the sketch black and left the other side white to represent yin and yang. This represents the balance in all of our lives and how our experiences create us as a whole person.

Before I came to Alfred State, I only practiced one type of art style and only used pencils. I did not care to go outside of my comfort zone and explore various ways to express myself. After coming to Alfred State, I learned to use various art utensils and how to use the principles and elements of design in my art work. I am more willing to take risks. I also learned that it is okay not to plan what I am going to do with an art piece and to just let my creative flow go on its own. I hope to graduate from Alfred state after four years and eventually become an animator. I want to make animated commercials, movies, and shows.

About nadiaparfait1

I am currently attending Alfred State college. My major is Digital Media and Animation. I create art that expresses my emotions and experiences, incorporated with the knowledge that I obtain from school.
This entry was posted in foundation, Non-Time Based and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

