Bunny Flipbook

         Flipbook Assignment

Part I:

The artist whose animation style I chose to imitate is Otto Mesmer. I watched his Felix the cat animated shorts. I used the shorts Feline Follies (1919), Felix the Ghost breaker (1923), Felix the cat Neptune Nonsense (1930), Felix the cat Non Stop Fright (1927) and Felix the cat Monkey with Magic. These shorts influenced me to give my character human qualities, like when Felix played the guitar and to make my character interact with unfamiliar things to them. I received the smoothest motion in the slides 10-12 and the slides 21-29. I achieved this motion by slightly changing the movements within the next card do that there was not a movement gap between slides.

The motion was less smooth through the rest of my short (1-9, 13-20 and 30-50) and I could easily change that by filling in the movement gap on the next card. The only challenge that I encountered while drawing the character was the stomach area. Felix has a round stomach which I believe made my character look weird while I was drawing it. One way to make the character look better is to make the stomach flat so that my character does not look weird.

To make my character look shocked, I made her eyes wide, I put lines around her to show that she was shaking and I even made her ears stand straight up. This was successful because the audience can tell that the character is scared. I could add eye brows to my character and have them raised to show that she was shocked. The action where my character was riding the carrot may have been unclear. To clarify it, I could add more cards with movement so that the scene lasts longer and the audience can see what it is before the scene changes.

Part II:

I did not make changes to the character design. I do believe that the stomach is slightly weird, but I wanted to keep the design of Felix the cat, so I left it alone. The motion throughout most of the animated short improved. Many of the slides flow better now and it is easier to tell what is happening within my animated short.

About nadiaparfait1

I am currently attending Alfred State college. My major is Digital Media and Animation. I create art that expresses my emotions and experiences, incorporated with the knowledge that I obtain from school.
This entry was posted in Time Based and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

